2023 Holiday Closures
March 30th Easter
May 25th Memorial Day
July 4th Independence Day
August 31st Labor Day
November 28th & 29th Thanksgiving
December 24th – 26th Christmas
December 31st New Year’s Eve
Early Closings
November 27th Close at 1:00 PM – Thanksgiving Eve
December 19th Close at 12:00 PM – Staff Christmas Party

The Crawford County Public Library was organized in 1954 after enough signatures were obtained to petition for a tax rate. The first Crawford County Library budget was published in August 1954. In 1955, a librarian was hired and a storefront building was used to house the library’s collection. The cleaning and repair of the building was accepted in lieu of rent.

In 1956, the decision was made to move the library to the Beals property on E. 5th Street. The house and lots were purchased for $6800.00. $3000.00 was provided by a Building Fund from the State Tax Commission and the Library Board received a loan for the remaining $3800.00. It was paid for in 1959 and the library remained there until the next building was acquired in 1968. For 25 years the library had been operated without building expansion.

In September 1992, April 1993, and September 1993, a Department of Commerce Community Focus Fund Grant in the amount of $500,000.00 was applied for. The grant application was denied in the first two rounds of funding but finally, in November 1993, the Library Board was notified that the grant had been awarded. The Library Board of the Crawford County Library in English Indiana proposed to construct a new library in the relocated town of English at the corner of Indiana Avenue and Oak Hill Circle. The new facility replaced the one located at 111 W. 5th Street in English. This is the current location of the library.

Mission Statement

The Crawford County Public Library will create an environment that supports a sense of community, active learning, and access to information, technology and services.

Core Values

The Crawford County Public Library will:

  1. Protect the freedom to read and champion everyone’s right to intellectual freedom.
  2. Ensure equitable access to library materials.
  3. Embrace the role as a community anchor.
  4. Preserve the community’s history and provide access to the information.
  5. Be responsible stewards of the Library’s financial and material resources.
  6. Protect the confidentiality of library patron records.
  7. Employ courteous, positive, professional staff.
  8. Partner with community organizations and leaders to support educational, social and recreational needs.
  9. Select, secure and maintain a collection of print, electronic, educational, historical and recreational library materials.
  10. Select, secure and maintain current technologies to improve services.
Angela Crecelius
Appointed by School Board
Term Expires: June 30th, 2024
Vice President
Zoe Zellner
Appointed by Commissioners
Term Expires: June 30th, 2025
Eugene Mattingly
Appointed by County Council
Term Expires June 30th, 2024
Donna Smith
Appointed by Commissioners
Term Expires June 30th, 2024
Beth Bonham
Appointed by School Board
Term Expires June 30th, 2025
David Grow
Appointed by School Board
Term Expires June 30th, 2026
Appointed by
Term Expires

Board meetings are held the last Tuesday of each month at 5:30 P.M.